Original post WW1 Commemorative war medal of the Hanover military association (Kriegsdenkmünze des Hannoverschen Landes-Kriegerverbandes), IN PERFECT CONDITION - ON GENUINE RIBBON, VERY GOOD EXAMPLE, HARD TO FIND - REALLY GOOD AND RARE MEDAL WITH NICE INTACT FINISH
HISTORY OF THE AWARD:
Commemorative war medal of the Hanover military association (Kriegsdenkmünze des Hannoverschen Landes-Kriegerverbandes, a.k.a. Hannoversche Kriegsdenkmünze 1914/18) - Commemorative medal was a remembrance token dedicated to participation of Hanover subjects in the Great War and was instituted by the Hanover military association in 1920. Applicants had to present military papers proving their war experience during the WWI to Association authorities who issued an award document upon approval. As all the other numerous Weimar-era badges, Hannoversche Kriegsdenkmünze 1914/18 had to be privately purchased by veterans themselves. An obverse shows an outline of an equilateral cross with wide arms and central medallion bearing an image of a galloping horse. Oak branch with three leaves and one acorn is situated on the upper arm of the cross, dates of the Great War (“1914/18”) – on the lower one. A reverse has a central inscription running in six lines in capital letters “Grateful Fatherland to the Sons of Lower Saxony” (“Nieder Sachsens Söhnen die Dankbare Heimat”) surrounded by a wide oak wreath tied at the base by a ribbon tie. This composition is circumscribed “Hanover military association” (“Hannoverscher Landes-Kriegerverband”) in capital letters. Circular medal with a diameter of 33 mm approximately was made of Buntmetall, a yellow colour alloy of nonferrous metals. Hannoversche Kriegsdenkmünze 1914/18 was worn suspended from a silk yellow ribbon with a central wide white stripe. Crossed swords gilt device (20,2x1,8 mm) could be attached to a ribbon as a distinctive element of a former frontline soldier. Commemorative war medal of the Hanover military association was issued in 1920-1933. Soon after it was replaced by the Cross of Honor officially instituted on July 13, 1934 and its open wear was prohibited.